top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEllie@QuirkyTeenBlog

I'm Worthless

Updated: Jan 29, 2018

​I'm worthless, it's something I've thought a thousand times. I’ve been called a lot of things in the short span of time I've been living and unfortunately if you’re re told you are something enough it’s what you start to believe as true. I've been called a freak, ugly, weird, weak, useless and so many other awful things. My whole life I've been told I'm not good enough because of how I look and how I act.

the media is one of the culprits, Magazines setting inhuman standards of beauty and perfection (I really hate that word), using Photoshop to make even the supposedly “perfect” people more “beautiful”. Models who are plastered all over social media, some who starve themselves and even take drugs to stay the "gorgeous" way that they are.

Another culprit of self deprecation is the people we see and talk to everyday. It's the little things like "you look awful today" or "you look hideous in that". most of the time they don't mean anything by but if you let the little things get to you you'll have a big problem. The reason I'm going on about people making you feel worthless is because recently I’ve been feeling very negative about the way I look and who I am so I came up with a couple of things to help. First I wrote down every negative thing I had ever been called or called myself. Once I’d finished I burnt it. It felt like the fire was burning away the negative thoughts about myself to make room for the positive ones. I know it sounds really cheesy and I know that you're thinking " oh but that doesn't really work" and I'm not going to lie to you, it doesn't make the pain just go away but it definitely helps. Then I went onto Google Images and searched for “inspirational body image quotes” and when I’d found about 6 or 7 that I liked, I printed them off. I stuck them around my mirror so that every time I looked in the mirror and thought “I look awful” I’d see “prove them wrong” or “self confidence is the best outfit”. I know it sounds like some cheesy fortune cookie line but actually after a while it really starts to make you feel better. So if you’re feeling worthless then try what I did, see if works for you and maybe share some of your own ways in the comments below, I would love to hear them and I'm sure it would help a lot of other people. #selflove #selfworth #provethemwrong #beyourself #beautifulbravestrong


See you soon, Ellie xxx

28 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Let's Have A Little Chat

Right, enough is enough. I’m seeing this everywhere and it needs to be fixed. Firstly, girls DO NOT let anyone tell you how you should look or how you should act. It is not okay if you’re having to ch

bottom of page