top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEllie@QuirkyTeenBlog

We Have A Problem!

HEY!

You know what sexism and feminism are right? See I only ask because I need to talk about them and I need everyone to fully understand what I'm saying and I can't do that if you don't even know what I'm going on about. So here are the definitions to make sure everyone understands what they really mean:


Sexism

Noun

  1. Attitudes or behaviour based on traditional stereotypes of gender roles.

  2. Discrimination or devaluation based on a person's sex or gender, as in restricted job opportunities, especially such discrimination directed against women.

  3. Ingrained and institutionalized prejudice against or hatred of women; misogyny.

Feminism

Noun

  1. A range of political movements, ideologies, and social movements that share a common goal: to define, establish, and achieve political, economic, personal, and social equality of sexes.

  2. An organized movement seeking to establish educational and professional opportunities for women that are equal to those for men.


Now you know exactly what they mean, hopefully it will help understand and appreciate the message I am trying to spread.

See the thing that bugs me is, as soon as you say the word sexism you get abuse thrown at you. Words like "femiNAZI" and "social justice warrior", "men hater" are used and I find that disgusting. I mean you're insulting people's morals, mocking their struggles and making light of serious problem within our society.

I have found that it is usually men who find this word insulting, I think it because they view it as a threat, a test or an insult. But just because I am a feminist or I say "That was sexist," does not mean I hate men, it just means that what you just said was degrading someone based on their gender, male or female.

Some women find the word sexism insulting as well because they believe that it's about hating men and not wanting men, so they don't want to be associated with it. This is one of the key reasons some women say they are not feminists because they don't hate men but what people need to understand is that, that's not what it's about.


When sexism or feminism are mentioned people think "men v.s. women", "it doesn't affect men", "women need more power than men" but that's not true. Feminism and the struggle against sexism aren't about hating on men and wanting all the power for women it's about the imbalance of power and equality between the genders and how it needs to be equal and not one above the other.

I found this and I think it explains how it affects everyone and why it is so damaging perfectly:

Like I said it isn't men v.s. women, it's just us and those who don't understand. So I am going to help spread information and the message so that more people understand because when people understand they might want to help to. Then it will just be us, everyone equal and together.

You see, together we are an army that could change the world we just have to be brave enough to open our eyes so we see it for what it really is, because if you try and win a war with your eyes closed you will just fall on your face. So open your eyes and fight with me!



See you soon,

Ellie

xxx

73 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Let's Have A Little Chat

Right, enough is enough. I’m seeing this everywhere and it needs to be fixed. Firstly, girls DO NOT let anyone tell you how you should look or how you should act. It is not okay if you’re having to ch

I'm Worthless

​I'm worthless, it's something I've thought a thousand times. I’ve been called a lot of things in the short span of time I've been living and unfortunately if you’re re told you are something enough i

bottom of page